Welcome to the website of the Old Shirburnian Golfing Society.

The OSGS is open to all Old Shirburnians regardless of age or golfing prowess. There are around 20 matches annually against other school Societies and golf clubs. The majority of the matches are over 36-holes at some of the finest golf clubs in the country. They offer a great opportunity to catch up with friends and renew some old sporting rivalries – in the friendliest of ways.

There are three meetings a year. The Sherborne Meeting in the spring, which includes a match against the school, the Summer Meeting & AGM at The Berkshire, and The Autumn Meeting at Rye. All great events with numerous prizes on offer.

In addition, there are a number tournaments in which the Society enters a scratch team – the Halford Hewitt, the Grafton Morrish, the Brent Knoll, the Mellin (O-55s) and the Alba Trophy. Any low handicap players who are not aware of these events should get in touch.

The Subsidy

Golfers aged under-27, and those aged 27–32, are subsidised by the Society to keep the cost of a day’s golf and lunch (and the age profile) as low as possible.


If you’d like to join the OSGS or would like more information please get in touch by using the Contact page of this website.


In the draw for the Halford Hewitt we will play Fettes at Deal, 07.45 on Friday 8 April. All supporters welcome.



Date Opponents Venue Manager Result Score
13/1 HH Draw East India Club Toby Couzens
27/2 HH Trial Deal Toby Couzens
28/2 R Cinque Ports G C Deal Toby Couzens  Halved  2½ – 2½
7/3 Committee Meeting London Howard Gill
13/3 Marlborough Woking Gavin Prentice Lost 3½ – 4½
19-20/3 Brent Knoll Burnham & Berrow Nigel Whalley Won Final
7-10/4 Halford Hewitt Deal Toby Couzens Lost Round 1
10/4 Blundell's Burnham & Berrow Marcus Rowland Won 7½ – 3½
17/4 Tonbridge The Berkshire Simon Buchanan Lost 5 – 7
20/4 Wrotham Heath G C Wrotham Heath Michael Jerrom Halved 2 – 2
7/5 Saunton GC Saunton Toby Rowland Lost 3 – 7
8/5 Grafton Morrish Qualifying North Hants Toby Couzens DNQ
10/5 Littlehampton Seniors Littlehampton David Watney Lost 1½ – 3½
14/5 Sherborne GC Sherborne Marcus Chantrey Halved 3 – 3
15/5 Sherborne Meeting Sherborne Marcus Chantrey
24/5 Lancing Littlehampton David Watney Lost 3 – 4
3/6 Woodbridge GC Woodbridge Howard Gill Lost 2 – 3
4/6 Aldeburgh GC Aldeburgh Howard Gill Lost 6½ – 9½
4/6 Alba Trophy Woking Stuart Gillett Won by Gillett & Couzens
14/6 A G M Meeting The Berkshire Robin Irving
21/6 Woking GC Woking 4.00pm John Hargrove Won 3½ – 1½
25/6 Rye GC Rye James Chappell Won 5½ – 3½
7-9/7 G L Mellin West Hill John Youngman Lost in semi-final of Salver
28/7 Cheltenham Tidworth Garrison Tony Steele-Perkins Lost 1 – 3
6/8 Malvern Woking Justin Chantrey Won 5 – 3
3/9 West Sussex GC Pulborough Willy Rydon Lost 2½ – 8½
10/9 Downside New Zealand Jerry Hill Won 7½ – 2½
5-7/9 Bermuda Trophy SW England Pat Farmer
24&25/9 Autumn Meeting Rye Jonathan Godfrey  
2/10 School/Staff Sherborne Lewis Hinch Won 4 – 1
7-9/10 Grafton Morrish Finals Hunstanton and Brancaster Toby Couzens DNQ
7-9/10 Dick Watson Trophy Aldeburgh Joss Whately-Smith
9/10 Family Day Woking Charles Eglington
16/10 The School Remedy Oak Robin Irving Cancelled
22/10 Radley Woking Terry Gordon Lost 3½ – 4½
7/11 Committee Meeting London Howard Gill   
6/11 Aldenham Ashridge Simon Brown   

Tick List

This is the most important bit of admin that goes towards the running of the Society. If you don’t submit a tick list you won’t play in a match. It’s very important to get this completed and back to the Hon. Sec in good time so that Match Managers can see how their team is shaping up at the earliest possible opportunity.


Please click here to go to the on line Tick List to complete and submit asap. 

The Captain’s Report on 2015

From David Dinkeldein  – f 1959

An interesting year with members enjoying fluctuating fortunes on the various courses on which we played. The weather was a mixed bag, but playable.

My year to date (six months) as Captain has not emulated the excellent achievements of silverware won the previous year, namely the Grafton Morrish and the Brent Knoll Bowl. Nevertheless, success was achieved in claiming the Halford Hewitt plate and the Burles plate, both for the first time.

Click for full report. . . 


Tom Parry was at Sherborne from 1920-25 and then went to Cambridge where he became a distinguished cox on the river, but it was golf that was to become his abiding passion.

Parry became great friends with G.L. (Susie) Mellin, the secretary of the Halford Hewitt tournament, and two significant events flowed from this friendship. In 1929 Parry wrote to 150 Old Shirburnians asking if they would like to help form a golf society. The response was such that the Old Shirburnian Golfing Society was founded that year and a team was first entered for the Halford Hewitt in 1930.

The second event was in 1960 when Parry founded the G.L. Mellin Salver in memory of his great friend – a tournament for the over 50s (now 55s) of the second 16 schools to have entered the Halford Hewitt.

The 1930s saw the Society start a framework of meetings and matches which was expanded after the War. Today there are three meetings in the year, as well as 29 matches against clubs and other societies, making the Society the most active of its peer group. The Society provides golf for Shirburnians of all ages and standards, ranging from the serious competition of the tournaments (Halford Hewitt, G.L. Mellin, Grafton Morrish and Brent Knoll), to the sociable but equally competitive matches and meetings for all handicaps.

Click here for more . . .


Officers & Match Managers


President Gavin Webb-Wilson
Vice-President Martin Macpherson
Captain Gavin Prentice
Vice-Captain Terry Gordon
Halford Hewitt Captain Peter Martin
Hon. Treasurer Robin Cullen
Hon. Secretary Howard Gill
Archivist Charles Eglington


Simon Brown Aldenham  
Simon Buchanan Tonbridge
Justin Chantrey Malvern
Marcus Chantrey Sherborne GC & Sherborne Meeting
James Chappell Rye GC
Mike Falconer Bermuda Trophy
Patrick Francis School Golf
Stuart Gillett Alba Trophy
Jonathan Godfrey Autumn Meeting
Terry Gordon Radley
John Hargrove Woking GC
Jerry Hill Downside
Lewis Hinch School & Staff match
Robin Irving Summer Meeting  Remedy Oak & School golf liaison
Mike Jerrom Wrotham Heath GC
Toby Rowland Saunton GC
Marcus Rowland Blundell's
Willy Rydon West Sussex GC
Tony Steele-Perkins Cheltenham
David Watney Littlehampton Seniors & Lancing
Nigel Whalley Brent Knoll Bowl
John Youngman G L Mellin